PROTECTION AND SECURITY for your day-to-day in the best hands

Incontinencia urinaria en adultos de baja movilidad

Learn about the 3 types and levels of incontinence

3 Tipos y niveles de incontinencia - Prudential

Urinary incontinence affects a large part of the adult population around the world. If you are showing symptoms of incontinence it is important that you visit a specialist for a more accurate diagnosis. We detail the types and levels of incontinence so you can identify the one according to your case:

Types of incontinence

  1. Urinary effort incontinence: It occurs under any event that increases intra-abdominal pressure such as: coughing, walking, running, or laughing.
  2. Emergency urinary incontinence: It involves involuntary loss that immediately follows a sense of urgency to urinate, unable to contain and with constant fear of a leak.
  3. Functional urinary incontinence: It occurs when the person, despite having a normal urinary system, is not able to get to the bathroom in time due to external causes such as cognitive loss, reduced or null mobility or the use of certain drugs.

Levels of incontinence

To know the severity or the levels of incontinence, medical professionals use the PAD TEST or “Diaper Test” which consists of quantifying the urine loss during a 24 to 48 hour period, and is based on the weight of the diaper. However, in general terms it could be said that the 3 levels of incontinence that exist are:

  • Light: your losses are sporadic and in small quantities in the form of drips or minimum flows.
  • Moderate: your losses are continuous and in medium quantities, one or more times per week or month.
  • Severe: your losses are continuous and in large quantities, once a week or almost daily.

To help you identify what your type and level, we have prepared a test that you can take here. Remember that it is important to visit a doctor for a more in-depth diagnosis.